International Women’s Day

Here’s to the women who fought so that today our voices could be heard,Here’s to the suffering they went through, the shame they faced and the war they fought so that their children and their grandchildren could be born into a world with equal chance and equal opportunity.

We salute you and we will continue the fight so that in the future girls and boys are born into a world that knows only equality. Knows only acceptance. Knows only love.

Happy International Women’s Day

I want to recognise in this post remarkable women like Yoko Ono, Maya Angelou, Malala Yousafzai, Emma Watson and Emmeline Pankhurst etc. 

All of whom revolutionised the way women are treated in society today. They fought and continue to fight for equality between gender. Mary Wollstonecraft said “I do not wish [women] to have power over men; but over themselves”. It amazes me that years before I was born women didn’t have this. 

I was born into a world where as a child I didn’t have to follow a certain path. I had choice in what I wanted to wear, what I wanted to play with. I could choose the subjects I wanted to study and choose my own path in life. It saddens me that there was a point in time where women and girls didn’t have the choices I have had. Women were financially dependant, their roles in life were decided before they were even born. That’s why we should a take today to say thank you to the many many women all over the world and throughout history who fought for us. Not only does their work and sacrifice impact the position of women today but it paved the way for change. It made change possible. It showed that the right amount of voices can change the way society works. People are no longer afraid of making their voices heard. People fight for equality across all areas not just between genders. 

These movements led change. Change needed for society to carry on and adapt. These movements inspire girls, boys, men and women all over the world and will do for the rest of time.

Leave a Reply

