“All I have is one pound to my name but I am happy and that is all that matters.”

I recently took part in helping out at a mobile kitchen. This mobile kitchen feeds almost 100 homeless and less fortunate people every Monday. As I stood giving out biscuits to each and every one of them my heart was torn.

One side was filled with heartbreak. I teared up at the thought that these people don’t have the meals we take for granted. It broke my heart to see them looking cold and hungry. I felt disgusted at myself for every time I have ever wasted food. The very fact that these people came here for food, possibly their first and last meal of the day and I have 3 meals a day that I often do take for granted. I will admit it to myself, I am selfish, greedy and materialistic. I am ashamed.

The other side of my heart, however, was filled with gratitude and happiness at what we were giving them. I felt overwhelmed and beyond happy at the smiles on their faces as they stood around laughing, chatting and eating. I felt like I could do more, I felt like I was doing something I should have done a long time ago.

Its given me motivation to do whatever I can to always give back to those who are less fortunate than myself. I have made this decision and I intend to stick by it.

One man said to us ‘All I have is £1 to my name but I am happy and that is all that matters.’

Wow.

Does that not make you stop and think?

Does that not make you question your own happiness?

We are materialistic people. We aren’t happy until we have bought a new piece of clothing or the latest trainers. This man had ONE POUND to his name but I’ve never seen a happier face in my life.

That is something I am going to remember for the rest of my life and constantly remind myself of. I am going to constantly remind myself to be grateful for the roof I have over my head and the food I have on my plate.

I’m not trying to say that we as humans are never grateful. I’m not saying that being materialistic is bad. I’m asking you – when is the last time you took a look at what you have around you and thought or even said ‘Wow I’m so grateful, thank you!’ When have you brought a new top and thought ‘Wow I’m so grateful to have been able to buy this!’

I know what you’re thinking, that I’m exaggerating a bit but think about it, there are people in the world who have nothing to their name and are more grateful than us. They are more happier than us. WHY IS THAT? It is because we may be grateful to receive things but they are grateful to be alive. They look at the world around them and are grateful for that. Some of us look at the gadgets or decorations around our bedrooms and are grateful.

We should always be grateful. About all the things in our life but we should mostly be grateful for the life we have been given.

That man I met was grateful to be alive. He held one pound in his hand as though it was 1 million pounds.

In that moment a lot changed for me and I wanted to write about it in the hope that one or two or even hopefully a few people could take something from this.

‘Instead of thinking about what you are missing, think about what you have that everyone else is missing.’

Leave a Reply

