Do something for yourself and start afresh.

Start from the beginning. Turn over a new leaf. Finish one chapter and turn over onto the next. Let one story end and a new one begin. 

There’s something wonderful about being able to start all over again. Going ahead with something new without letting the past influence or conflict with it. I think starting from the beginning is a very personal moment in your life. It’s you giving yourself another chance.

As beautiful as it sounds people are unfortunately scared to start again because it means a lot of letting go. It means forgiving, not only others but yourself. It means getting rid of the bad no matter how invested you are into it.

Starting from the beginning or starting afresh is a personal, selfish decision but in the very best way a person can be selfish. 

I started afresh, unknowingly at first, at the beginning of 2017. I made the same New Years resolutions that deep down I knew I wouldn’t follow but hey I had hope. To tell you the truth I didn’t even look at them come January the 2nd. Now, however, as we are nearing the end of April I’ve realised I did start afresh. I let go of a lot that was hurting me. I welcomed change. I made a lot more decision solely based on the fact that I wanted to, for me! I will admit letting go of things I’ve held onto hurt but I expected it to. It’s like holding onto 2 bags of bricks for hours and hours until you decide that it’s time to put them down. You feel relieved instantly but the pain in your arms and hands doesn’t go away immediately. That’s what it is like to let go of the past. It was relieving but it hurt for a while and that was ok.

I learnt that we can’t be afraid to let go of that which is unhealthy for us to surround ourselves with. We can’t be afraid to put ourselves first. We have to value ourselves enough to make decisions that maybe do only benefit you as an individual. 

So be selfish. Start a new book. Go on a new adventure. Let go of what was hurting you. Embrace and welcome new positive change into your life because at the end of the day it is YOUR life.

Leave a Reply

