You weren’t born to be just like everyone else!

“Human brings are works in progress that mistakenly think they’re finished.”- Daniel Gilbert

This quote has recently related a lot to myself and the current situation I’m in. I see that I’m constantly comparing myself to everyone around me. Why? Because everyone else is perfect. They’re funny and pretty. They’re smart and talented. They have a good heart and are liked by everyone. They don’t need to worry.

At least that’s what I thought. The truth is perfection doesn’t exist in society nor should we want it to exist. Why should we think that we have ‘made it’? Why should we think we don’t have to work anymore? The thing is no one in life whether they’re 7 or 70 are finished. No one is perfect. There is always knowledge to be learnt and experiences to experience. As people we can always do more or be more. There’s nothing wrong with that at all. In fact knowing I’m a work in progress means knowing that there’s so much more living to do and so much more exploring to do. Knowing I’m a work in progress keeps my feet on the ground. It remind me to focus on myself and not to worry about things that aren’t in my control.

We will come across people in our life times who think they’re done. They are everything they need to be and that’s brilliant! However there is a difference between thinking you are at a place where you’ve always wanted to be and thinking you’re above everyone else just because of where you are. Do not confuse the two. You can achieve everything you have always wanted to achieve and you can tick off everything on your bucket list but don’t think since you’ve done that that you’re superior to others who are still on their journey. 

That brings me onto how people feel the need to compete in this world. Don’t get me wrong I do understand why. It’s becoming harder and harder these days to meet society’s standards. What it comes down to is really asking yourself, if by meeting or trying to meet these standards will you be happy? Will you feel fulfilled? Will you still be you?

I feel as though losing yourself in such a competitive environment is the worst way to go. Losing the elements that make you stand out, that make you unique and that show that you won’t be bought is the start of a downhill journey.
Never lose sight of who you are. Never stop looking for new opportunities, experiences, knowledge etc. Never compete with others as you were born to stand out.

2 thoughts on “You weren’t born to be just like everyone else!

Leave a Reply

